Press Releases

European Commission Staff Receive ECDL Certification... read more.

One-Module ECDL Registration Numbers

Candidates interested in getting certified in one ECDL module ONLY are now able to purchase the ECDL Registration Number at a discounted rate... read more.

ECDL Syllabus 5

Candidates registered on ECDL Syllabus 5 are able to sit for certification tests of Modules 1, 2 & 7 until 30th September 2016. More details available from Test Centres.

ECDL Registration Number

Starting from 01-Feb-13, all candidates starting ECDL are allocated an ECDL Candidate Registration Number instead of the Skills Card. Candidates who have purchased the Skills Card will continue using this.

ECDL Core Syllabus 5

Candidates registered on ECDL Syllabus 5.0 are able to sit for certification tests of Modules 1, 2 & 7 until 30th September 2016. These tests will not be available after this date. The certification tests for modules 3, 4, 5 and 6 will remain available after this date.

The information in this page is related to ECDL Syllabus 5. Candidates registered into the ECDL Core programme until 30th September 2013, will continue working on Syllabus 5 modules.

Information about the New ECDL for new candidates is available here.

ECDL Core is a test of practical skills and competencies and consists of seven separate modules covering computer theory and practice. To achieve the ECDL Core certificate, the candidate must successfully pass a test in all seven modules.

ECDL Core Module 1 is a theoretical test of computing knowledge at a general level and modules 2-7 are practical skills tests, as follows:

  • Module 1 - Concepts of Information & Communication Technology (ICT) - available until 30th September 2016
  • Module 2 - Using the Computer & Managing Files - available until 30th September 2016
  • Module 3 - Word Processing
  • Module 4 - Spreadsheets
  • Module 5 - Using Databases
  • Module 6 - Presentation
  • Module 7 - Web Browsing & Communication - available until 30th September 2016

Registering to start ECDL

Registration to start the ECDL Core certification is not available. New candidates will register to start the New ECDL.


ECDL training is delivered through a variety of media, including traditional classroom based, instructor-led methods, and self-directed, assignment or multimedia based training (CBT), which is usually a home study option. This latter method has proved to be most successful when learners are supported by a tutor or mentor to help with any queries.

Candidates are not however, required to do any training in order to achieve their ECDL. If they are competent in the syllabus content, they can contact an accredited ECDL test centre, purchase a skills card and sit the tests.


There are a number of approved ECDL courseware providers who produce materials for teaching and learning the knowledge and skills prescribed in the ECDL syllabus. Below is a list of approved courseware providers for Malta:


  • All ECDL tests are undertaken on automated testing software at an accredited ECDL Test Centre. Candidates undertake a test on a computer, which then automatically assesses the candidates' performance, and provides immediate pass/fail feedback to both the centre and the candidates. The use of automated testing simplifies the testing and administration procedures in a test centre, and makes it very efficient.

  • The duration of each test is 45 minutes. No books or other help may be used during the tests.

  • The pass mark for each module is set to be 75%.

  • The seven tests may be taken in any sequence and at any time in any accredited ECDL Test Centre within 3 years, from the date of the first successful test. Candidates will need to purchase a new ECDL Candidate Registration Number and resit all tests if they do not manage to do all tests within the 3 year period.

  • Candidates failing ECDL tests are allowed to retake different test versions of the same module at the same Test Centre. Candidates are encouraged to attempt the sample part test papers before taking tests. Candidates are strongly encouraged to liaise with the ECDL Test Centre to sit for mock/diagnostic tests.

  • Candidates who are not satisfied with the assessment process of their ECDL test are encouraged to discuss their concerns with the Test Centre. If they are not satisfied with the outcome of these discussions, they are encouraged to send an email/letter to ECDL Malta explaining their concerns.

Syllabus & Sample Tests

All ECDL Core tests are based on Syllabus 5.0 [PDF].

You will need Adobe Acrobat Reader to view PDF files on your system.

In order to download the ECDL sample test files to your PC, do the following:

  1. Select the ECDL sample test link provided below.
  2. In the dialogue box that appears, select "Open this file from its current location".
  3. In the dialogue box that appears, select the required path to extract files to(e.g. C:/My Documents).
  4. This will extract all the files into the chosen folder above (you may require a compressed folder extraction tool e.g. jZip)
  5. In this folder, open the files and follow instructions.

ECDL Sample Part Test Papers:

*All ECDL tests taken on automated testing software. It is strongly recommended that candidates contact the Test Centre and make arrangements to undertake diagnostic/mock tests before sitting for tests.

The above sample tests are being provided for revision purposes and to familiarise the candidate with typical test questions.


The ECDL Core Certificate is awarded when all seven module tests have been successfully completed. The ECDL certificate awarded is referenced to Level Three of the Malta Qualifications Framework and the European Qualifications Framework for Lifelong Learning ...more information.

The ECDL certificate will NOT be issued immediately by the Test Centre. ECDL Malta will issue the certificate and pass this on to the Test Centre where the last test was held. Candidates will collect the certificate from the Test Centre where they had sat for their last test. The fee involved in issuing the ECDL certificate is incorporated in the cost of the ECDL Registration Number or Skills Card.

Candidates have the option of requesting an ECDL Start certificate after having successfully completed any four modules of the ECDL programme. Candidates will still have the option of obtaining the full certificate once all modules have been passed. However, this will only be issued against an additional charge as indicated by the Test Centre.

How to get Started

Contact one of the locally accredited ECDL Test Centres.

Last updated: 10-Sep-17



Approved Courseware