print page

The ECDL Certification Programme

The European Computer Driving Licence (ECDL) is the global standard in end-user computer skills certifications. ECDL consists of a set of IT qualification programmes ranging from entry level certifications such as EqualSkills to certifications aimed at intermediate and advanced computer users. Whether in school, university or in the workplace, ECDL offers the skills you need to succeed.

The ECDL is available in 100 countries, and over 16 million individuals have registered for one of the ECDL certification programmes. ECDL Foundation based in Ireland is the worldwide governing body and licensing authority for ECDL certification programmes.

ECDL Worldwide

The quality and reputation of ECDL is built on twenty years of experience in delivering this certification programme to over 14 million people and in more than 40 languages worldwide, with more than 2.5 million ECDL tests taken annually. The success is maintained by the ongoing innovation in certification programme development, the ECDL Foundation commitment to rigorous test design methodologies, and consistent adherence to high quality assurance standards.

ECDL Malta

The ECDL programme was launched in Malta in 2000. Since then the ECDL programme has gained tremendous popularity and support by government and local employers. In October 2005, ECDL Malta has been named global winner of the New Licensee Award at the first ECDL Foundation Licensee Awards in Zurich. This award was presented to ECDL Malta in recognition of the high performance of the ECDL programme in Malta.

In May 2017, ECDL Malta hosted the annual ECDL Foundation Forum which attended by representatives from countries that operate ECDL/ICDL certification programme.

At present, the ECDL programme consists of three main certification programmes catering for every level of computer use experience, from complete beginners to expert end-users and users with specialised interests. We invite you to browse this website and embark on one of the ECDL certification programmes:

The ECDL Base, Standard and Expert certificates are classified under the eight-level system as detailed in Legal Notice 347/2005 and the level descriptors of the European Qualifications Framework for Lifelong Learning (EQF) and the Malta Qualifications Framework (MQF)... more information.

Last updated: 18-Mar-22